An open letter to my future self

“There’s always hope for the willing” -of mice & men 

image

I hope you still like the smell of mahogany teakwood candles, laughing, and spreading love to everyone.

I don’t know your favorite color, song, or food yet but I will always be you.

I hope you are still passionate about helping people, whether it’s a domestic violence situation, or helping women get out of sex trafficking, I know you love to make a difference. I hope you are still smiling and laughing, and making the most out of your life- surrounded by friends and family.

I hope you are enjoying life, experiencing knew things, and stepping way out of your comfort zone. I hope you visited Seattle, went sky diving, and experienced the many thrills life has to order.

I hope you are happily married to a man that puts you before himself, pushes you to be the best you can be, is your shoulder to cry on, and loves you for being you. I hope you have a beautiful family, and a few dogs.

I hope you are proud, strong, courageous, happy, and I hope you are confident. I hope you wake up in the morning and you love yourself. I hope you let nothing get to you, and you look twice in the mirror to see how beautiful you really are. I hope you acknowledge your worth every day, and take some time for yourself.

I hope you have kids, and you taught them to be confident, strong, and that they can do whatever they set their minds to. I hope you taught them that normal is boring, and that its okay to be unique. I hope you taught them to love others as much as they love God. I hope you taught them to be kind, caring, and compassionate, and to spread joy and happiness to everyone. I hope you taught them that mistakes happen, but forgiveness is key.

I hope you are still in touch with your childhood friends, and I hope you invite them to go to the cabin, or get coffee often. I hope you never regret finding the good ones, and letting some friends go. I hope you are still finding things you like or don’t like, and growing everyday. I hope you laugh about your old anxiety, or how you used to hide in bathrooms when you got to stressed out. I hope you reminisce on all of the times when things didn’t go your way, and you now realize why. I hope you are happy with how they turned out.

I hope you are still filled with joy and laughter. I hope you still tell jokes, and dance like nobody is watching. I hope you still love to watch the sunset at the beach, and get chocolate ice cream cones dipped in chocolate. I hope when someone says “reading a book” it makes you laugh just as hard as it did in high school. I hope you still love to read the real life books, and watch movies that make you cry. I hope you love all of your flaws, and wonder why you ever pointed them out in the first place. I hope your life is filled with pictures, so you never forget the memories.

I hope you traveled, and your heart was full while doing it. I hope you laid on a hammock without a worry in the world, and soaked up every moment. I hope you saved many cities in need, and you feel a bit more grateful for the life you have. I hope you became even closer to God.

I hope when you look back on your life, you don’t regret a single thing. I hope you sit in awe from all the things you did, and people that impacted your life along the way, I hope you are happy with the life God has given you.

4 thoughts on “An open letter to my future self

Leave a Reply

